The Art of Basketball

Today I am proud to share an event I attended with my internship with the Downtown Information Center. At 7 o’clock in the morning, I helped my internship supervisor set up at the Downtown Exchange Lounge in Orlando. The event I assisted with was called “What’s Up Downtown” where representatives of the Orlando Solar Bears, the Orlando Predators and the Orlando Magic spoke about their future aspirations with each team and getting information out there to those in the local businesses.  First of all, I was unaware that this location was once a mall, but was shut down. What a beautiful place. It looks like you just stepped into the past and is the most classic area I’ve ever seen.

Image

Image

Upstairs, are now offices for those employees who work there and downstairs are galleries where artwork is placed and events are hosted.

This beautiful artwork was everywhere, surrounding my every turn:

                            

Not to mention the incredible basketball backboards made out of real backboards from professional courts.

              

The artist, Mr. Brainwash, rapidly emerged as a renowned figure on the international street art scene. He has spent the better part of the last decade attempting to make the ultimate street art documentary.

Let’s not forget what I wore:

I can’t complain about today, or about my internship. It’s going to be a great summer!

Make sure you check out the artists:

Mr. Brainwash:

Website: http://www.mrbrainwash.com/

Documentary: http://current.com/shows/fifty-documentaries/93390359_morgan-spurlock-finds-out-if-mr-brainwash-from-exit-through-the-gift-shop-is-the-real-deal.htm

Billi Kid

Website: http://www.billikid.com/streetart/index.html

For more information about the artwork and where to purchase:

Barbara Hartley: 407.648.7060

http://www.orlandoslice.com

Make sure you guys support local art and visit downtown art galleries! They’re too much fun to pass up on.

Follow me:

Twitter: @Leonielouna

Instagram: @Leonielouna

